When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Basic Biscuits (Vegan) October 11, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Breakfast,Tuesdays With Dorie,Vegan — pastrybrush @ 6:48 pm
Tags: ,

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Jennifer of Cooking for Comfort.  She picked Dorie’s Basic Biscuits which are located on page 21 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  As I explained in last weeks post, this is Vegan Month of Food and all of my posts will be made Vegan.

This week Tuesdays with Dorie was no exception.  I perused some of my vegan cookbooks (Vegan Brunch and Vegan with a Vengence) to make sure that I made the biscuits as close to the recipe as possible.  I have made vegan biscuits before (Pumpkin and Regular) and with most biscuit recipes you just have to replace the milk and the fat that you use for the biscuit and voila, yummy biscuit.  That was the exact changes that I made for the recipe.  Instead of 6 tbsp of unsalted butter, I used 4 tbsp Earth Balance Vegan Buttery Sticks and 2 tbsp vegetable shortening.  Instead of 3/4 cup milk, I used my go to non-dairy milk which is rice milk.  It has a much more milk flavor than soy, which works out well if you have someone that doesn’t like the flavor of soy.

The biscuits turned out great.  They rose the perfect amount and were light and fluffy.  It was the perfect morning breakfast or side to a yummy tofu scramble🙂

 

One Response to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Basic Biscuits (Vegan)”

  1. Those look really good. And pumpkin biscuits mmmm.


Leave a Reply

