When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Vegan MoFo: Oh La Las aka Vegan Oreos Halloween Style October 16, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Cookies,Vegan — pastrybrush @ 9:45 pm
Tags: , , ,

My husband is obsessed with Oreos.

I think that might have been one of the first things I learned about him besides his obsession with anything Star Wars Lego related :)  For his 20th birthday, almost 10 years ago, I made him a lego cake and the round connector thingies were made from mini Oreos.  I have contemplated getting the cake pan that is shaped like an Oreo, logo and all, to make him an Oreo birthday cake.  But alas, I never seem to buy the pan.

I guess the next best thing to getting an Oreo shaped cake would be getting homemade Oreos.  Granted, Oreos are vegan but I have always wanted to try my hand at them.  Considering, especially in college, Mike could eat an entire thing of Oreos in one sitting.  You would think that was impressive if you ever saw Mike because he is 6′ 2″ and 175 lbs (on a good day).  He has a great metabolism which I am jealous of everyday🙂

Back to Oreos or Oh La Las.

Since it is October, I decided to get into the Halloween Spirit and dye the insides orange.  I think they look prettier that way.  The only time consuming part of the recipe is the rolling the dough out and cutting each cookie.  It is like make sugar cookies but the dough is a bit stickier.  I just made sure the surface I rolled these little monsters out on was well floured and that worked out perfectly.  Isa and Terry do give some good directions on how to roll these out between two sheets of parchment, which is awesome but I was running low on parchment.

These cookies turned out perfect.  Mike has been munching on them for a few days and they are almost gone.  I think he is trying to savor them before they disappear.

If you would like this recipe, stroll on down to your local bookstore or hope on over to Amazon.  It is a fantastic cookie book🙂 Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero

 

Leave a Reply

