When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tempeh BBQ Sandwiches with Vegan Cole Slaw October 24, 2011

Filed under: Vegan — pastrybrush @ 11:44 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Recently I have been cooking out of Appetite for Reduction.  A few of the recipes caught my eye they were very easy and quick.  One of them was the Buffalo Tempeh, which can be turned into a lovely sandwich with the addition of Cole Slaw, vegan of course.  I really want to try the Buffalo Tempeh, but I had one problem…Emma.  Since I am currently her main supply of food right now, anything I eat goes to her.

I LOVE spicy food, and I didn’t have any problems with it while I was pregnant.  But I guess Emma doesn’t appreciate it as much now, maybe she will when she is older.  So spicy things no go, which I learned with the Red Thai Curry Tofu (will post later).  To remedy the problem and make the sandwich more of a Carolina type BBQ, I marinated the tempeh in a homemade Caroline BBQ sauce courtesy of Tyler Florence.  It is actually one of Mike’s favorite BBQ sauces because it is vinegar based and has that kick of mustard.

Everything came together very quick, and the sandwich was fantastic.  I would have never know it was vegan if I hadn’t been cooking it.  I think the BBQ sauce made it.  For the recipe for the Buffalo Tempeh and Cool Slaw pick up a copy of Appetite for Reduction, you won’t regret it.  For the BBQ tempeh just sub in enough sauce (1/4 recipe) to marinate the tempeh and proceed with the recipe in Appetite for Reduction.

Cider Vinegar Barbecue Sauce

Source: Tyler Florence

1 1/2 cups cider vinegar
1 cup yellow or brown mustard
1/2 cup ketchup
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
2 garlic cloves, smashed
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cayenne
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Combine the vinegar, mustard, ketchup, brown sugar, garlic, salt, cayenne, and black pepper in a saucepan over medium heat. Simmer gently, stirring, for 10 minutes until the sugar dissolves.

 

Leave a Reply

