When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Ginger Jazzed Brownies (vegan) October 25, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Vegan — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , ,

Last weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Hindy of Bubie’s Little Baker.  She picked Dorie’s Ginger Jazzed Brownies which are located on page 101 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  This recipe was a little bit more involved to make Vegan, and my first attempt at making the brownies went okay.  However, I know that if I ever make them again that there are a few things that I would do differently.

First off I made the following substitutions: For the 3 eggs I used 1/2 cup of silken tofu blended until smooth.  I replaced the unsalted butter with Earth Balance Vegan Buttery Sticks (I think this is where I went wrong).  The brownies baked up okay, but they seemed to not be baking through.  Which it isn’t like that really mattered since there was no raw ingredients in the batter.  But they did bake up a little oily, and I think that the Vegan Buttery Sticks were the problem.  I don’t really care for the flavor of the sticks, but that is currently the best thing out there.  Most cake recipes that I use usually use vegetable oil, and then the frosting might have the buttery sticks.  Buttery sticks in frosting usually isn’t a problem because you have so many different flavors it doesn’t make a difference.  Well not with the brownies, the flavor stuck out like a sore thumb.  So next time I will use 1/3 cup of vegetable oil instead of the Vegan Buttery Sticks.

I topped these brownies with a Vegan Chocolate Ganache via Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World…completely yummy by itself and it made the brownie.

Because I didn’t have fresh ginger on hand I used all ground ginger: big mistake.  I love ginger.  I love the heat, the taste everything.  But you need to use fresh ginger because wow, all that ground ginger (3/4 tsp) just made the flavor taste off to me.  The brownies were okay, but I have learned my lesson and will definitely be making changes for the next time I make them.

 

One Response to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Ginger Jazzed Brownies (vegan)”

  1. ameyfm Says:

    what a great idea to put ganache on your brownies! double the decadence! Also, I love the idea of fresh ginger in brownies!!!


Leave a Reply

