When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Earl Grey Madeleines and Sour Cream Pumpkin Pie December 6, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Cookies,Pie,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 11:39 pm
Tags: , , ,

Fair warning: My computer keeps trying to take a GIANT dump on me, so something that should have taken me a couple of minutes just wasted almost an hour of my time.  Which made me miss all of Warehouse 13 and the first part of Haven.

Yes, I am a giant SyFy nerd.  I guess I will be missing the rest of Haven just so that I can accomplish what I came here to do.  Thank you Jesus for On Demand🙂

Okay back to our regularly scheduled program….I mean post.

This is a mixture of one of last weeks recipes and one of this weeks recipes.  With that said, lets begin.

Last weeks Tuesdays With Dorie was chosen by Judy of Judy’s Gross Eats and Tracey of Tracey’s Culinary Adventures.  They picked Dorie’s Sour Cream Pumpkin Pie/Tart and Normandy Apple Tart, respectively.  I actually made the first recipe on time, took pictures, and tasted the pie.  All in a days work, and then I never posted about it.  I guess I need to work on my follow through.  For the Normandy Apple Tart, I got as far as making the apple sauce filling and then threw in the towel.  Not because I didn’t want to make the tart, but because I was getting a little Sweet Tart Doughed out.  So for the past few days I have been eating the apple sauce filling with yogurt for breakfast, or warmed up with cinnamon and Cool Whip for dessert.  Both ways are extremely yummy.

The Sour Cream Pumpkin Pie turned out fantastic except for the fact that when I poured the filling in the bottom crust floated to the top, opps.  I guess I should have cooked it more.  I figured it didn’t matter what the inside looked like as long as the outside looked good and it tasted yummy, which it did :)  Best advice for this pie is to let it chill in the fridge for a few hours and the filling firms up like a custard and makes it a lot easier to cut and plate, especially without a bottom crust.

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Nicole of Bakeologie and Kayte of Grandma’s Kitchen Table.  They picked Dorie’s Earl Grey Madeleines and Honey Almond Fig Tart, receptively.  All recipes are located in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  I decided to go with the Madeleines because I knew there was no way that I was going to be able to find fresh figs in my neck of the woods and I was still not feeling Sweet Tart Dough.

The Madeleines bake up perfectly.  I didn’t really notice the Earl Grey flavor.  I think the lemon zest over powered it, but they tasted very good and lemony.  They were perfect with the Irish Breakfast Tea that I was drinking.  I always forget how easy Madeleines are to bake.  I think I should make them more often.

So far, my computer hasn’t taken its ultimate dump and I can happily say I finished the post before Haven was over🙂

This month is a little bittersweet for Tuesdays With Dorie because it is coming to an end.  It has been a grand adventure so far.  There are still a few recipe I have been meaning to make since I joined only a couple of months after its inception.  I can’t wait for the next chapter to begin🙂

 

5 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Earl Grey Madeleines and Sour Cream Pumpkin Pie”

  1. nicmarsh Says:

    OMG so happy there was a Warehouse13 on my DVR last night. Do you watch Eureka too? It was pretty funny, a cartoon switcheroo.

    Thanks for baking along.

    • pastrybrush Says:

      I watched Eureka before the drama with my computer, but I did get to watch Warehouse 13 at midnight🙂 Both shows made me happy.

  2. Cakelaw Says:

    Great job on all of these. The pumpkin
    Pie looks especially delectable.

  3. Special K Says:

    By chance would you have her recipe for the earl grey madeleines?


Leave a Reply

