When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Unbelievably Good Chocolate Blueberry Ice Cream and REWIND December 20, 2011

WOW!!

Tuesdays With Dorie is coming to an end really fast.  I can’t believe how the time flies.  Speaking of time flying, how is my little Emma already 6 months old?  That is just plain nuts🙂

So, last week I made the ice cream and everything on time and then with realizing Christmas was fast approaching and I had yet to start baking cookies…well needless to say I never posted, opps.  I guess that is the story of my life these days.  Without further ado, last weeks Tuesdays With Dorie was chosen by our fearless leader, Laurie of Slush, she picked Dorie’s Unbelievably Good Chocolate Blueberry Ice Cream.  This yummy recipe is located on page 433 of Baking: From My Home to Yours.  The other recipe that we could have picked was chosen by Julie of Someone’s in the Kitchen, who picked Dorie’s Puffed Double Plum Tart on page 378.  I actually wanted to make the Plum Tart, but Mike wanted ice cream.  So I figured this way I would eat less of the ice cream if I made what he wanted🙂

The ice cream was very easy to put together and when it cooled it was like chocolate pudding.  I was very impressed at how well the ice cream churned up and then the blueberry preserves added a nice color and fruitiness to the ice cream.  It was a perfect balance and very creamy🙂

Now we get to this week.  This week was a REWIND so we were allowed to chose  any recipes.  Since I am in the middle of cookie baking, and I usually make a couple of Dorie’s cookies for Christmas.  I actually made the Linzer Sables (pictured) and the Spicy Molasses cookies (not pictured).  This time around I made the Linzer Sables with ground almond instead of ground hazelnuts.  They turned out great.  They always bake up perfectly and are very easy to make, and they were requested from my father which is funny because I ended up choosing the cookies that my father and father-in-law like🙂

 

3 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Unbelievably Good Chocolate Blueberry Ice Cream and REWIND”

  1. cindy Says:

    The ice cream looks yummy–even in December! I have yet to make the Linzer Sables, they are a beautiful cookie. They will be a great addition to any holiday cookie plate. Have a wonderful Holiday season.

  2. Peggy Says:

    I love the Linzer Sables! Yours look so wonderful and they bring back fond memories. Seeing all these great rewind choices has been like visiting old friends. Sigh.

  3. Flourchild Says:

    Your cookies look perfect! I love them and sorry I didn’t get a chance to make them yet! The ice cream looks yummy! I find it hard to believe will be wrapping this group up next week..it’s been a great ride!!


Leave a Reply

