When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: White Loaves February 7, 2012

Filed under: Baking With Julia,Bread,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 1:00 am
Tags:

20120206-193409.jpg

Tuesdays With Dorie is back, and everyone rejoiced….

YAY!!!!

I am so excited to be baking from Baking With Julia . After receiving the cookbook as an early birthday present, I flipped through the book and all the different recipes made me so happy. A lot of the techniques I have already done, but practice makes perfect and I love all the bread recipes. I am looking forward to all the new recipes and this new cookbook adventure.

Without further ado, this weeks Tuesdays With Dorie is being hosted by Laurie and Jules, they our are fearless leaders in TWD and for the recipe of White Loaves, which are located on pages 81-82 in Baking With Julia.

I don’t make bread that often, even though I love homemade bread. The smell of bread baking in the oven has to be one of my top 5 favorite smells. It is absolutely perfect. For this recipe, I had just enough bread flour to make half a recipe which is one loaf. The bread baked up perfect and I found it to be one of the best tasting homemade breads. The bread has a perfect texture with a tight crumb, and a semi-firm texture. Toasted this bread has a slight buttery flavor, and is perfect with Homemade Nutella. It also works perfectly for sandwich bread, either sliced thin or thick. Once I get my hands on some more bread flour, I will be making more of this bread.

 

7 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: White Loaves”

  1. tierneymarie Says:

    This bread really is fantastic, isn’t it? I’m planning to make it again soon, too. And the smell is incredible; it just fills the whole apartment and makes waiting for the finished loaf to cool quite the challenge!

  2. Karen Says:

    Yum! I bet this would be fantastic with homemade Nutella. So glad you are back for the second round! Your bread looks perfect!

  3. Cher Says:

    I love the smell of bread baking. Better than any perfume. (And home made “nutella” rocks)

  4. Alice Says:

    You should post about making homemade Nutella🙂 I love the smell of baking bread too! It’s the best and not much beats it!🙂

  5. I used real Nutella on mine and it was delish! I would love to learn how to make it homemade.

  6. Jaime Says:

    you can make it with regular flour😉

    great job. my crumb wasn’t quite so tight/dense, wonder what makes the difference?

  7. Teresa Says:

    I love that this bread can handle just about any topping (or filling, for that matter). Yours looks beautiful.


Leave a Reply

