When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Popovers August 21, 2012

Filed under: Baking,Baking With Julia,Bread,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 3:18 pm

20120821-151816.jpg

This weeks Tuesdays With Dorie is being hosted by Paula of Vintage Kitchen Notes and Amy of Bake With Amy. They are hosting for POPOVERS, which is located on page 213 in Baking With Julia.

I have actually never made Popovers before.

SHOCKING!!!!

Wait, there is a possibility that I made them in one of my food classes in college, but I am just not 100% sure.

Anyways, these were actually VERY easy to make, and the added bonus was that I didn’t have to buy popover pan. The directions actually were for using a muffin pan or custard cups. The only thing you need to remember is to only pour batter in every other hole because popovers get HUGE. Or as the name suggests, they pop over.

I made these with dinner for Monday night. I knew I needed something for us to dip them into because popovers aren’t too flavorful. They are essentially a vehicle for dipping or slathering jam on. I made my version of Salisbury Steak with a sautéed onion and white wine gravy, accompanied by rice and roasted asparagus. Mike is always SHOCKED when I pull a meal out of my….the recesses of my brain. Then I usually have to take him through what I did so that he can try to replicate it later.

The popovers were the perfect vehicle to slop up the leftover sauce/gravy. Emma even enjoyed some of the Salisbury Steak, she kept asking for more off my plate when her mouth was still full, silly baby.

Moral of the recipe, Popovers are an excellent addition to almost any meal.

 

9 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Popovers”

  1. They look great, especially with that wine gravy! It turns out most of us had never made popovers before!

  2. I am with you…never had eaten one or made one…it was a new experience🙂

  3. Cynthia L. Says:

    I grew up eating these and loved them with gravy poured in the middle! I would love to hear more about your Salsbury Steak recipe!

  4. Cindy Harris Says:

    I do like your meal–perfect. I thinking about strawberry butter oh ya! These are delidious and fun to make.

  5. Cathleen Says:

    I thought I had never had or made these either. My sister tells me our mother used to make them though I do not remember. These were a fun and tasty recipe ( I added cheese) for sure!

  6. bakewithamy Says:

    I felt exactly the same way. What an easy and delicious recipe

  7. Cher Says:

    These look great.
    It was good that we didn’t have to acquite another pan to have success with these…

  8. Teresa Says:

    My mother made these a few times when we were young, but no one’s made them since. It was fun introducing them to my nieces. Sounds like you made a great meal to go with them!

  9. Hang on….those ‘pop overs’ look suspiciously like Yorkshire Puddings!


Leave a Reply

