When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Peach Upside-Down Chiffon Cake September 4, 2012

20120904-135503.jpg

This weeks Tuesdays With Dorie is being hosted by Marlise of The Double Trouble Kitchen and Susan of The Little French Bakery. The recipe for this week is Nectarine Upside-Down Chiffon Cake, which is located on pages 241-243 in Baking With Julia. I actually had peaches on hand,so I decided to go with peaches instead of nectarines.

The are actually a few steps to this recipe: melting butter in a pan/adding brown sugar/placing the fruit, making/baking the crumb filling, and then making the cake batter and layering it with the crumb filling, and finally baking. I was actually really glad that I read the recipe through before tackling it because I would have completely messed up the recipe. I didn’t have any almonds on hand so I decided to use hazelnuts instead, which turned out great.

The cake baked up nicely except the center of the cake did this weird sinking thing, but it wasn’t too noticable when it was turned out of the pan. The cake turned out great. I loved the flavor, but the use of the peaches might have been a bad idea. Flavorwise it was perfect, but the peaches gave off A LOT of juice. It was almost like the cake had its own peach sauce poured over the top, so the top/bottom was very moist.

I would definately make this recipe again, but I would use the correct ingredients and see of that correctedany of the sinking/moist problems that I had.

 

Leave a Reply

