When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie Vegan Style: Sweet Berry Fougasse September 3, 2013

This weeks Tuesdays With Dorie was a choose your own adventure of recipes. It was between Blueberry Muffins and Sweet Berry Fougasse. These recipes cane be found in Baking With Julia on pages 208 and 194, respectively.

I decided on the Sweet Berry Fougasse because it was the simpliest recipe to make vegan. Granted I could have pulled of doing the Blueberry Muffins, but I already has some focaccia dough ready to go in the freezer. So, it was a very easy decision. Also, the only thing I changed in the recipe was the crumb topping. I substituted vegetable shortening for the butter. I know I could have just used vegan butter, but sometimes it leaves that not so nice soy taste in baked goods that I don’t really care for.

I am sure you are asking what is a Fougasse. With regard to this recipe it is a pastry made with a base of foccacia dough, which is slashed, filled with blueberries, and then topped with a crumb topping. Very easy to make, but after eating one of the pastries it was very bready. So next time I will roll/press the dough out thinner. My 2 year old loved the topping and insisted on eating the berries and the crumb topping off of a very small piece. She did eventually eat a small piece of the bread and answered with a resounding, “YUM, YUM.”

20130903-174122.jpg

 

2 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie Vegan Style: Sweet Berry Fougasse”

  1. Mandee Says:

    I’ve never made anything like this, but it looks so good!

  2. I haven’t heard of fougasse – sounds yummy!


Leave a Reply

