When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Vegan Crockpot Time September 29, 2013

Filed under: Curry,Main Courses,Vegan — pastrybrush @ 11:30 am
Tags:

20130923-152901.jpg

A couple of weeks ago, I decided to make a bunch of Vegan meals in my Slowcooker. I have had this cookbook (The Gourmet Vegetarian Slow Cooker: Simple and Sophisticated Meals from Around the World by Lynn Alley) for awhile and I have wanted to cook a few recipes out of it. I finally felt like the right time to try them out and Mike was willing to cooperate and try the recipes too. I ended up making Butternut Squash in Green Curry Sauce page 53, Potatoes and Peas in Red Curry Sauce page 48, and Lebanese Eggplant Stew page 105.

All of the recipes were very easy to make and the only prep was chopping up the vegetables. I think out of all of the recipes my favorite was the Potatoes and Peas in Red Curry Sauce. It was more substantial than the Butternut Squash in Green Curry Sauce. Don’t get me wrong the Green Curry was great, but it needed more vegetables than just the butternut squash. Next time I think I might add sliced onions and peppers. In reality you could just add your favorite vegetable, but be careful with the cooking time because you don’t want them to be falling apart.

The Lebanese Eggplant Stew is similar to a Ratatouille, but with different spices and more liquidy, hence Stew. I ended up subbing yellow squash for the zucchini because that is what I had on hand. Also, most of the vegetables that I used were from the Farmers Market (eggplant and squash) and our garden (2 types of green peppers). It turned out good, and all of the recipes were served either over rice or with rice.

 

Leave a Reply

