When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Pumpernickel Loaves November 5, 2013

This weeks Tuesdays With Dorie recipe is the Pumpernickel Loaves located on pages 95 to 98 in Baking With Julia.

20131105-195453.jpg

The bread took a lot of elbow grease because I kneaded it by hand. I actually didn’t have any yogurt or unsweetened chocolate in the house so I used milk with distilled white vinegar and bittersweet chocolate. It seemed to work pretty well. Also, I wanted a sandwich loaf of bread so I formed them and baked them in loaf pans.

As I stand here writing this my daughter is picking at the loaves because she wants to try them. I guess I am going to slice into one of these in a second.

 

Leave a Reply

