When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Baking Powder Biscuits August 19, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — pastrybrush @ 3:26 pm

IMG_4710This weeks recipe for Tuesdays with Dorie is the Baking Powder Biscuits which are located on pages 211-212 in Baking With Julia.  Like any biscuit recipe the key is COLD ingredients and light hands aka do not over handle the dough. You want flakes of fat in the dough and you do not want it to melt. So the least amount of time you handle the dough the best.  I ended up making this recipe Vegan because it was VERY easy to do and I am gearing up for Vegan Month of Food (VeganMoFo) in September.  I had some Almond Milk on hand so I just substituted that for the milk and the recipe was already using vegetable shortening.

The recipe is suppose to make 14 two-inch biscuits.  Well I like a BIG biscuit so it only made 6 for me.  They turned out great. I ended up splitting them in half and loading them up with a vegan chicken patty for my very own version of a chicken biscuit.  They were very yummy.

 

9 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Baking Powder Biscuits”

  1. Cathleen Says:

    Now that is how a biscuit should look! Mine did not rise very much – I had subbed all butter for the shortening, and later realized my baking powder had expired..

  2. whoa–those look awesome! way taller than mine. chicken biscuit is a great idea!

  3. Lisa Says:

    They look great!!

  4. Nicole Says:

    I agree, your biscuits look fantastic! I just don’t have good luck with biscuits.

  5. Sunita Says:

    Look at the rise on those biscuits!! Great.

  6. Oooh, you got a beautiful rise too!

  7. Ok, seriously, how did you get such good rise? Those are so perfect!

    • pastrybrush Says:

      I was just as shocked about the rise because when I usually make biscuits it is either hit or miss. The shortening that I used was frozen so that helps with it not melting. I tried to handle the dough as little as possible too. I find that when I pat the dough out and use a biscuit cutter they get more rise then just doing drop biscuits.

  8. Cher Says:

    Very nice rise on those biscuits!


Leave a Reply

