When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Day 3 Vegan: Battling the Devil’s Candy September 3, 2014

Filed under: Vegan — pastrybrush @ 11:57 pm
Tags:

This morning I get up, get my workout in and I am vegging on the couch with a cup of coffee, when a familiar smell accosts me. It is emanating from the kitchen. I already knew Mike was cooking the girls breakfast which I couldn’t touch because it wasn’t vegan. But I wasn’t expecting him to try to temp me with what I have nicknamed the Devil’s Candy…

BACON!!!!

Really!?!?!?
REALLY!?!?!?
Oh Come On!!!!

I would like to say that I did win the battle today and I feel better for it.

I ended up having a soy strawberry yogurt with frozen raspberries for breakfast with my coffee. Lunch consisted of a little pile of Chicky Tuna Salad topped with slice avocado and tomato. Before work I had a vegan chicken patty wrapped in lettuce with Vegan Mayo. For dinner I had some left over Lentil-a-Roni and 2 small plums.

While herding my girls during the day, I finished prepping the Falafel Burgers (Isa Does It) and decided to bake them instead of pan fry. The first time I made the burger earlier in the year, the first few I tried to cook were a pain in the butt. They kept falling apart and absorbed WAY too much oil. I solved the falling apart dilemma last time by adding approximate 1/4 cup flour to the mix. This time I added a bit more water to the recipe and added the 1/4 cup flour. Then I took a sheet pan and lined it with a Silpat (parchment paper is fine), brush olive oil on the Silpat, formed the burgers, placed burgers on sheet pan and brushed the tops with olive oil. I wasn’t sure on temperature so I started the oven at 375 degrees Fahrenheit for 20 mins. When they came out I wanted a bit more color so I increased the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit and decided to go for another 20 minutes. They turned out nicely browned and not dried out. I let them cool and then placed them in the freezer for future consumption.

Goal for Thursday morning is to make Pita Bread and have the burgers for dinner🙂

FYI My husband did request the Falafel Burgers because he liked them the first time I made them.

 

One Response to “Day 3 Vegan: Battling the Devil’s Candy”

  1. Stay strong! I don’t love cooking with oil, but a friend of mine showed me how to make falafel with grapeseed oil. Worked really well! (If you ever want to try, I prefer baking to frying myself🙂


Leave a Reply

