When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Days 4 and 5 Vegan Style September 7, 2014

Filed under: Vegan — pastrybrush @ 10:04 pm
Tags:

IMG_4740Day 4

Went very well with regard to sticking to eating Vegan, now working out was another story.

I had the obligatory Soy Peach Yogurt in the morning, no raspberries since my 3 year old trying to open the package and busted frozen raspberries everywhere.  That comes with the territory with having a 3 year old and 1 year old.  I was able to make and then freeze the Black Bean and Quinoa Stuffed Peppers from Vegan with a Vengeance.  I decided not to boil the peppers like the receipt says since I knew I was going to freeze. Freezing the peppers will change their structure so I didn’t want them breaking down too much.  I also didn’t do the final bake since it would be easier to cool them down and put them in the freezer if everything wasn’t too hot.

Later in the morning, I started making the Pita Bread for the Falafel Burgers that we had for dinner. I also started to brainstorm what to do with the Cauliflower that I bought.  The final idea was next week to make Caulipots (Cauliflower and Mashed Potatoes) to go with the Chickpea Cutlets with Sweet Vidalia Onion Sauce and Green Beans.

I did end up running some errands to get a couple more items that I need for meals I am planning. I also made a stop at the liquor store because I am going to be making the Grasshopper Pie from Vegan Pie in the Sky.  I have also been on the look out for Silken Tofu which I came across once but its use by date was September 11, and I knew I wouldn’t use it by then. So I am just waiting for them to restock it at the store.

Day 5

I am going strong. I have been keeping up with my 5k training because I know how important that is if I am going to beat my horrible time from last year and be ready by race day (Thanksgiving morning).

This mornings breakfast was the usual yogurt and coffee. Lunch was a vegan chicken sandwich in a homemade pita with Vegan Mayo, lettuce and tomato. Dinner was a Bistro Beet Burger in a homemade pita with some chips and a smoothie.  I finally found a smoothie recipe to use up the rest of the beets that I had left over from the Bistro Beet Burger. I did substitute a few ingredients to add a bit more fruit to, but follow the link to the original recipe.

Beet Smoothie

Source: Vitamix

1 cup water

1 cup raw beets, skin on, scrubbed, and cut into pieces

1 medium carrot, skin on, scrubbed, and cut into pieces

1 1/2 tsp lime zest

1/2 cup frozen mixed berries

1/2 banana

1/2 cup ice cubed

Blend according to the manufactures directions for your blender.

 

Leave a Reply

