When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Palets de Dames November 11, 2014

I would like to apologize for being MIA for an entire month.

Funny thing is I have actually been baking along, but like always times escapes me or maybe I just fell into a wormhole.  But I did emerge out of that whole over 5 pounds lighter.  That isn’t due to the baking, I am still training for a 5k on Thanksgiving and have been incorporating a lot of other exercises into that.  I have found that I am A LOT stronger now, but I still have a sweet tooth.

So the last time you heard from me I had embarked on my Vegan Adventure in September. Which was fantastic, and I need to fall into the vegan hole again because I really liked the way that I felt.  I ended up diving head first into the omnivore hole, but I have been incorporating more vegetables and more than a few times have enjoyed a home cooked vegan dinner.

Fair warning in advance, anyone that is still following me from my month of vegan food, I have reverted back to my omnivore ways…..for now🙂

Holy Crap, Dorie came out with a new book.  I knew it was coming, but it surprised me the night we were doing an overnight set up (I work at a bookstore) and it happened to be one of the books on the table we were setting up.  I immediately screamed like a little girl and told one of my co-workers to stop what he was doing.  I ended up placing the book on hold, to purchase the next day because it was already WAY passed close. I also proceeded to hand it to my husband and told him that this was my anniversary present from him🙂 Which happens to be today.

What a happy coincidence.

This is Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking Chez Moi style.  We start it off with a happy little cookie called Palets de Dames (page 272-274 in Baking Chez Moi).  Essentially it is a butter cookie with a lemon icing. I discovered that my lemons had gone bad, so I used 3 drops of Doterra Lemon Essential Oil.  The cookies turned out great and my 3.5 year old kept stealing them off the counter and eating them.  I really loved having them with my Irish Breakfast tea in the morning.

100_4129

Since, I was baking  along here are the things that I did make and missed to post.

From Baking With Julia, last Tuesday was the Alsatian Onion Tart located on page 426.

100_4128

Also, from Baking With Julia, on October 7, 2014 we made the Sunny-Side Up Apricot Pastries located on pages 192-194. I ended up subbing canned apricots because I was unable to find any fresh.  I also made this with vegan pastry cream, so it was vegan because I used Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry.

IMG_5057

 

15 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Palets de Dames”

  1. Tricia S Says:

    Wow- that is an amazing catch up and my mouth is watering over the results ! I have been teasing that by adding the BCM to our FFWD routine I personally need to do less blogging and more working out but kudos to you for actually training for a 5k. Good luck and looking forward to seeing you on the Tuesday postings ~

    • pastrybrush Says:

      Thank you. I tried to do FFWD when it first started but I couldn’t keep up. I think it is great you are going to to BCM too.

  2. Kayte Says:

    This was a happy little cookie! Yours look completely happy and that they would also make everyone else happy! 🙂

  3. Happy Anniversary! Great looking cookies…and you remind me that I need to start running again!! Looking froward to baking with you!!! It’s going to be blast! – mary

    • pastrybrush Says:

      Thank you Mary🙂 I am looking forward to baking with everyone too. I am currently trying to motivate myself to do my training today. I also follow your blog and would like to say I like your bundts🙂

  4. mydearbakes Says:

    What a lovely bake! Will be looking forward to your next bake!

  5. We have a lot in common! I’ve also signed up for a race – which will be necessary with all these yummy treats. Last year I did Vegan Before 6 from Matt Bittman for about four months and it felt great. I need to get back into that bandwagon again. Nice meeting you, Erin.

  6. Teresa Says:

    Nice catch up! All three dishes look amazing. Now that I’ve joined this group, I may have to start training…

    • pastrybrush Says:

      After flipping thru the book, I might agree with you. I think I am going to have to keep running just to eat all the yummy food🙂

  7. Your cookies look beautiful! Nice catch up, too! Looking forward to our baking adventure! Happy baking!

  8. Cher Says:

    Welcome back! Like the round up – those sunny up pastries were delicious (I used canned apricots as well and was happy for the aggravation it saved me🙂 )
    Best wishes on your training!

  9. Zosia Says:

    Pretty cookies (and your tarts, both savoury and sweet, look fantastic)! I’m looking forward to baking through BCM with everyone.

  10. Margaret Says:

    I love that you discovered the book as you were setting up in a bookstore! I’d scream too!

  11. Happy belated anniversary! And what a perfect gift to celebrate with! All three of your recipes look good, and I too enjoyed them. Looking forward to baking along with you.


Leave a Reply

