When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Cranberry Crackle Tart November 25, 2014

 

This weeks recipe is from Baking Chez Moi by Dorie Greenspan and is the Cranberry Crackle Tart located on pages 135-137. The crust is a sweet tart dough that you par bake and me and the crust got in a little altercation. I had made notes in my other cookbooks about par baking crusts and to only do it for half of the time because I always over bake it without fail. Well that is what happened, but good thing that I decided to make a double recipe of the dough. So I just had to wait for it to defrost and then I could make the crust again. I also added one more egg white (3 total) to the filling.

I made the tart today because we went to dinner at my in-laws tonight and we had it for dessert. I was very pleasantly surprised by the flavor. It was the perfect compliment to the sweet shortbread crust, tart cranberries, and creamy meringue. I would definitely make this again because for the most part it was simple.100_4168

 

8 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Cranberry Crackle Tart”

  1. Heidie Makes Says:

    This looks divine!🙂

  2. Zosia Says:

    Your tart looks so enticing with that golden brown crust! Kudos for persevering and baking a second crust and I’m happy you enjoyed after all of that work!

  3. Wow, so brave to try this with your in laws. I usually make my husband taste test first. Your fluted crust looks great.

  4. Nice, wasn’t it? Even after your altercation with the crust!

  5. Kayte Says:

    I’m with you on that baking the crust blind for less time part, I always go with the first time (like 8-12 minutes, I pick the 8) as I know that it is going to darken even further on the second bake. Worked well for me to go with the earlier time Dorie suggested. What we always say is “Trust Dorie!” and I have found that to be good advice.🙂 Your tart looks lovely, no wonder you enjoyed it!

  6. Peggy Says:

    Looks great! I also found this tart to be surprisingly yummy.

  7. I like the shape of your pie plate! I feel the crust could be cooked for a shorter time, it was a pretty brown before adding the filling and baking again.

  8. Teresa Says:

    You made such a pretty edge for your crust. I loved this one, too. Glad it was a hit with the family!


Leave a Reply

