When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: French Apple Tart January 22, 2013

Filed under: Baking,Baking With Julia,Tarts,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 3:32 pm
Tags: ,

This weeks Tuesdays With Dorie is being hosted by Gaye of Laws of the Kitchen. She is hosted the recipe for the French Apple Tart which is located on pages 379-381 in Baking With Julia.

I actually made this Tart for dessert last night and it turned out great. I had some left over pie dough already portioned out in the freezer, so that made this recipe a little bit quicker for me to accomplish. For the filling, instead of baking the apples in the oven I decided to cook everything in a pot on the stove and it turned out perfectly fine. It actually reduced the amount of dishes that I had to wash since I cooked and mashed the apples in one pot. To make the taste of the apple filling a little bit more flavorful I used 1 tsp of cinnamon instead of just a pinch.

The tart reminded me of a nice slice of apple pie, and both Mike and I enjoyed it. I would definitely be willing to make this tart again. Especially, when I really want an apple pie that I know will turn out great.

20130122-143159.jpg

 

5 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: French Apple Tart”

  1. louisawalter Says:

    The pot idea is terrific! Wish I had thought of it! I did do all those dishes! Kristine

  2. SandraM Says:

    Tart looks so good. How lucky to have dough already made! (I have that now…since I made the full recipe) :o)
    I too added extra cinnamon….a pinch is just not enough!

  3. saucygander Says:

    Aha, pot and less washing up. My husband perked up when I told him your idea (guess who does the washing up). Wasn’t this a lovely tart?

  4. Cathleen Says:

    I found extra dough in the freezer only while putting the extra from this recipe in! Boo hoo. I did mash my apples on the baking sheet – why dirty another dish?! I like the sprinkle of powdered sugar – wish I had not skipped it. Looks beautiful.

  5. Cher Says:

    Using the stove top was a great idea – and when apples are involved, a pinch of cinnamon is never enough!


Leave a comment