When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Walnut Bread December 2, 2014

Filed under: Baking,Baking With Julia,Bread,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 12:55 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

This weeks Tuesdays With Dorie is from Baking With Julia, and the recipe for the Walnut Bread is located on pages 121-122.  You start out by making the Mixed Starter Bread located on pages 113-120, and once the kneading phase is complete you move on over to the Walnut Bread to complete the recipe. The Mixed Starter Bread starts out with a walnut sized piece of dough from a previous yeast dough recipe (pizza, bread, etc.).  The only yeast dough I had in my freezer was Pita Dough that I had made in September, so I sawed a piece of that off to use.  Granted, I wasn’t suppose to use it since it had whole wheat flour in it, but oh well.

The first rise went fine, but the second rise was an utter failure.  There was no rise.  Since I knew that we were going to be adding more yeast by the third rise, I wasn’t too worried about it.  I just figured it wouldn’t have the depth of flavor that it would normally have. I had already used almost 3 cups of flour so I wasn’t about to back out now.  I ended up adding a bit more yeast at the third rise, just in case (I used 1 teaspoon).  From then on everything turned out great.  The bread looks awesome, but I have no yet tried any yet.  I will be cutting into in later today and then I will amend my post.

IMG_5122

 

4 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Walnut Bread”

  1. Cher Says:

    It looks very pretty! (And you following the slashing directions – I missed that and ended up with a bit of an alien looking final product).

  2. Lovely loaf– hope you liked it. I made my walnut bread entirely with AP flour but I was thinking as I made it that would be tasty as a whole wheat bread, so I’m sure the whole wheat in the starter did not hurt it any.

  3. I am betting it tasted as good as it looks!


Leave a Reply

