When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays with Dorie: Sweet Cream Biscuits April 20, 2010

Filed under: Baking,Breakfast,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 12:43 pm

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Melissa of Love At First Bite.  She chose Dorie’s Sweet Cream Biscuits, which are located on page 23 of Baking: From My Home to Yours.

Who doesn’t love a warm flaky biscuit straight out of the oven?

Answer: No one because biscuits are fantastic 🙂

Back in college, Mandi and I would frequent Gillies, along with everyone else in Blacksburg, and their biscuits are fantastic.  That is the one thing I would look forward to when stopping in for breakfast.  The biscuits were huge, pillows of yumminess that were freshly baked and literally walked around the corner from Bollo’s.

I have tried my hand at making biscuits before, but they just don’t get as tender as I would like them.  With Dorie’s recipe they were easy and I didn’t even have to get out the tub of lard out of the pantry 🙂  Straight out of the oven, I pulled one apart and slathered butter and homemade peach-blackberry jam.  Wow, these were so perfect.  I even picked one up and ate it plain and it was still soft, tender, and yummy.

I think the keep to this recipe is not handling the dough very much, and you will get a perfect biscuit each time.  Melissa, thank you for picking the Sweet Cream Biscuits they were great.  I am definitely going to make this again 🙂

 

11 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie: Sweet Cream Biscuits”

  1. omg i can see the flaky layers from here. looks amazing!

  2. Hornedfroggy Says:

    Beautiful! They’re so perfect, too – great job! 🙂

  3. Susan Says:

    I couldn’t get over how easy yet yummy these were! Yours look perfect!

  4. shoot–those are the flakiest i’ve seen yet. you have attained biscuit perfection!

  5. Jules Says:

    Those look so good. Nice rise!

  6. Karen Says:

    mmm peach and blackberry jam sound delicious with these! 🙂 Fun memories too!

  7. Wow those are SUPER flaky. Yum!

  8. Jenny Says:

    Oh my, your biscuits are wonderfully flaky! Very, very nice! I didn’t get to bake along this week so I’m just drooling at all the yummy photos…..

  9. Michelle Says:

    Ok so your biscuits get my vote for being the best looking biscuits around! They are big and flaky..and so tasty looking. I thought maybe you got that picture out of a Martha Stewert cookbook!

    • pastrybrush Says:

      Thanks Michelle 🙂
      My flakiest biscuits were actually from the scraps that I patted out to cut out more biscuits. Which made me laugh. I guess since I folded the dough over on itself it made more layers and they just puffed up more

  10. Melissa Says:

    Your biscuits look nice and fluffy and wonderful! Thank you for baking with me this week!


Leave a comment